Sony DVP-FX820/P 8-Inch Portable DVD Player, Pink

Sony DVP-FX820/P 8-Inch Portable DVD Player, Pink

Watch movies anytime and anywhere you want with Sony’s cool and colorful DVP-FX820 Portable DVD Players. With a 6hr battery life, an 8″ high-resolution swivel screen that provides a clear and crisp picture from any angle, 2 headphone jacks for sharing, and a car adapter that ensures your movies outlast even the longest road trip. And when you want more than movies, the FX820 plays your CDs or MP3s, and lets you view your personal photo albums. You can choose your preferred color among Black, Cherry Red, Cool Blue, Bubble Gum Pink and Snow White. Then, sit back and enjoy the crispy and sharp image with this Sony high-resolution LCD display.

Reviews from Customers

“Good upgrade from Sony DVP-FX810”
Have owned the original Sony DVP-FX810 and that was a good player too. I sold that and bought this one. The resolution is about twice as high as the original. Just bought this but I can tell you the screen really shines compared to every other DVD player (portable) that I’ve seen. I’m sure more players will have the high resolution soon. The volume is also much louder than the original.

The battery is supposed to last 6 hours at lowest brightness. With my old one which is basically this I did manage 5 hours at medium brightness so two movies should work fine before the low battery symbol shows. I wanted the red one but the sonystyle at Metreon had everyone except the red but the blue is nice too. Highly recommended.

“I’m amazed…”
I did a lot of research before choosing the Sony DVP-FX820 and what sold me were all the great reviews (thanks everyone!) I was leaning toward a player with a larger screen, but I trusted what I read about the picture quality of this unit… and I have to say, I received it today and I am amazed. It’s much better than I expected! This little dvd player has a better picture than my HD TV! And although the speaker sound is a little hollow (no real base) the volume more than makes up for it… I’ve heard other players- or should I say I’ve tried to hear other players- the volume is wonderful on this one, the sound totally acceptable via the speakers and the sound is incredible when I use my 10 yr old Sony Studio Monitor headset.

While I was shopping around, I was a bit concerned about what would happen to my full screen DVDs on this widescreen unit. I read about other units that really stretched the image out so that it looked bad. When I tested this unit, I first saw this approx 5″ x 4″ image and thought, boy that’s weird… it was still ok but I didn’t understand it until I read the manual. You can change the format from “Normal” (which is that box that’s narrower than the screen), or it can be changed to Full. The Full screen mode doesn’t look bad at all. Everyone looks slightly heavier but not distorted… I flipped back and forth between the modes several times to see if I could really see the difference, and it wasn’t bad at all- nothing looked distorted.

The battery is nearly the size of the base of the unit but it is very slim and hardly adds thickness to the until (I had read on other untils how the battery was a real detractor- but not with this unit.)

The remote is just the right size- it’s big enough where you wouldn’t lose it too easily but it’s smaller than a normal tv/dvd remote. I didn’t want one of those credit card sized ones! And it couldn’t be easier to use.

I started out wanting a 10″ screen but I changed my mind based on the reviews- and I’m very happy I went with the 8″. After I thought about it, I realized that I didn’t want to feel like I was carrying around a laptop- I already have a laptop and so why even bother spending $ on a portable DVD player? 🙂

I highly recommend this Sony unless your heart is really set on a larger one. I now think this size is perfect.

So anyway, I was very happy with the unit before I plugged in my headset. With my headset, this player blows me away- I’m amazed at the quality. And now I’ve got to look for a case that’s worthy of it. 🙂

UPDATE… I found a great case worthy of this DVD player!! I purchased the Targus DVD001 13 Portable DVD Player Case from Amazon. It is good quality, nicely padded and fits not only the player, but also my large headphones which do fold and all the accessories. It holds a lot of DVDs if you take them out of their cases but I don’t like to do that, so it only holds about 4 if you keep the DVDs in their plastic cases. This is my own issue with the case. But I love it and would recommend it to everyone. Oh, it also has a strap that staps across the DVD player to keep it snug and also a divider attached by velcro to separate the dvd player from the accessories you pack with it. Great Bag!

“It Doesn’t Get Any Better Than This!”
I admit to not being very astute when it comes to tech stuff. But I simply got so sick and tired of the hassle in hooking one-thing-up-to-another-thing to just sit back, relax and enjoy. Now I can do all that with ease anywhere and enjoy my favorite movies and instructional programs with the most superb picture quality possible along with its fantastic portable ease-of-use, and truly long-life battery time. Moreover, even though it was a bit more than I wanted to spend at the outset, I am delighted that my wallet went that extra mile because this is a truly solid investment that will provide lovely viewing, listening and learning – like the song says…as time goes by.

See all detials of Sony DVP-FX820/P 8-Inch Portable DVD Player, Pink

~ by sonydvp on November 30, 2009.

Leave a comment